Star Gazing at Banff Sulphur Mountain Gondola

This is my first official post for our Astronomy blog category.  Thought I would start with something simple and then work my way up to more engaging topics.

This Friday December 2, 2016 I will be volunteering with another member of the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada (RASC) Calgary Centre to share the night sky with the public.  Here is a link for more details.

https://www.brewster.ca/attractions-sightseeing/banff-gondola/events/

The event runs from 6-8pm and does require the purchase of a lift ticket.

I volunteered for this same event two weeks ago.  It was a lot of fun but also very challenging to hold my 12 inch Dobsonian telescope steady in the wind.  The skies for the first hour were mostly cloudy but then it began to clear up.  Fingers are crossed for better weather this time.

The logistics for getting my telescope to the top of the mountain can be challenging but the views at 2136 metres (7,000 feet) above sea level are amazing.  In August I had my telescope at the top of Kicking Horse Resort on a perfectly clear night.  It was a bit challenging locating faint objects due to the bright Moon but the views of the Moon and the planets were spectacular and the crowd appreciated the effort it took to get my gear to the top.

I will write a follow up post to describe how the event this Friday goes and what we were able to view.

Until then,

Clear Skies!

Doug

